BCWCID #3’s Board of Directors serve staggered four-year terms. Elections are held on the November Uniform Election Date in even-numbered years. The next Board of Directors election will be held on November 5, 2024.

Candidates for Director must file an Application for a Place on the Ballot. The first day to file for a place on the ballot or to file a Declaration of Write-In Candidacy is July 20, 2024. The last day to file for a place on the ballot is August 19, 2024. The last day to file a declaration of write-in candidacy is August 23, 2024.

The election shall be held at the early voting and election day polling places established by Bastrop County.

Individuals seeking a place on the ballot may obtain applications upon request to the District by email at lisap@pattersonlawtx.com or by downloading the following:

Application for a place on the Ballot
Declaration of Write-In Candidacy
Application of a Campaign Treasurer by a Candidate (CTA)  (Instructions)

Filing Address
Applications for a place on the ballot may be filed within the dates specified above at the following address(es):
Law Office of Lisa Patterson, 1002 Buttonwood Street, Bastrop, Texas 78602

BCWCID #3 Board of Directors Eligibility
To be eligible for election or appointment to the Board of Directors, an individual must:

  1. Be a United States citizen;
  2. Be 18 years of age;
  3. Be a resident citizen of the State of Texas, and either own land subject to taxation in the District or be a qualified voter within the District;
  4. Have not been determined by a final judgment of a court exercising probate jurisdiction to be: (a) totally mentally incapacitated; or (b) partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote; and
  5. Have not been finally convicted of a felony from which the person has not been pardoned or otherwise released from the resulting disabilities.

Potential candidates for the Board of Directors are encouraged to review Texas Water Code

Section 49.052, which details certain conditions of disqualification for directors of water districts.